Buying monk fruit: how to read °Brix, mogroside V percentages and 1:1 sugar-replacement claims

Application & Formulation Guides

Application & Formulation Guides 2026-09-23
Monk fruit Specifications Sweeteners

A monk fruit quotation may describe a liquid concentrate, an enriched powder or a finished sweetener blend. Their headline numbers refer to different properties. FruitSource® lists 65±5 Brix and 3.30–3.70% mogroside V on the same concentrate specification.[4] Monk Fruit Corp names its MFC-E50 powder 50% Mogroside V Extract.[2] Lakanto markets its Classic erythritol–monk fruit blend as a cup-for-cup sugar replacement.[8] These are a refractometer reading, a compound-specific specification and a consumer measurement instruction, respectively—not three points on a purity scale.

Reading the denominator changes the purchasing comparison. A concentrate brings its own colour and storage requirements; an extract percentage identifies only part of the composition; a cup-for-cup blend includes ingredients beyond monk fruit. The following examples show how those distinctions appear in actual documents.

Four commercial documents and what their numbers describe

The comparison concerns published supplier and brand information, not laboratory testing or a representative market sample. FruitSource’s specification was approved on 20 September 2021 and is used here as a historical document, rather than a current release specification.[4]

Four commercial documents: distinct measures, not a purity ranking
Documented materialPublished specification or declarationMeaning of the headline number
FruitSource® Monk Fruit Concentrate, AG6522Published specification or declarationAmber liquid; “Total Solids”: 65±5 Brix by refractometer; “Total Mogroside V”: 3.30–3.70% by HPLC. Ingredient: Luo Han Guo concentrate.[4]Meaning of the headline numberThe Brix reading and V assay are separate fields. Neither is a complete sugar profile.
Monk Fruit Corp MFC-E50Published specification or declarationPowder grade named 50% Mogroside V Extract; the page lists V grades from 25% to 70%.[2]Meaning of the headline number50% refers specifically to V, not the complete composition or the powder's sweetness in a finished drink.
Matakana Monk Fruit PowderPublished specification or declaration90% monk fruit extract, with “standardised to a minimum of 7% mogrosides” in parentheses; 10% maltodextrin.[5]Meaning of the headline number90% is an ingredient proportion. The 7% declaration refers to mogrosides, without identifying V separately.
Lakanto Classic Monkfruit Sweetener with ErythritolPublished specification or declarationErythritol and monk fruit extract; marketed to measure cup for cup like sugar.[8]Meaning of the headline number1:1 is a volume-based replacement instruction for the finished blend. The page does not disclose the extract percentage.

Concentrate: read Brix and the V assay separately

FruitSource’s sheet assigns different methods to its two specifications: a refractometer for the field labelled “Total Solids” and HPLC for mogroside V.[4] A buyer therefore needs both fields. Treating 65 Brix as 65% V would substitute one measurement for another; treating it as a measured sugar composition would go beyond the data supplied.

The same sheet permits light to dark amber liquid and specifies refrigerated storage at 0–5°C, in a properly sealed container away from direct sunlight, with a stated shelf life of 12 months.[4] Those details affect a beverage project as directly as the assay. For a water-clear drink, colour should be evaluated at the intended dilution. For a fruit-coloured drink, the permitted amber appearance may be acceptable. The refrigerated specification also belongs in the handling-cost comparison, using current instructions for the exact product.

The sheet does not identify the V percentage as dry-basis or as-supplied.[4] That distinction must be resolved before converting purchased concentrate mass into grams of V. Keep any such calculation separate from the amount needed to sweeten the beverage: equal V mass is not evidence of equal perceived sweetness.

Powder: distinguish extract proportion from compound content

Matakana’s product page calls the material monk fruit juice powder and declares “Monk fruit extract 90% (standardised to a minimum of 7% mogrosides), maltodextrin 10%.”[5] Two levels of composition appear in that sentence: the ingredients used in the powder and the mogroside standardisation associated with the extract.

The parentheses attach the standardisation to the extract in the ingredient declaration. They do not provide a V-specific assay or a complete analytical reporting basis. Multiplying 90% by 7% would therefore not establish the finished powder’s V content. A V-based purchasing comparison needs a V-specific specification for the supplied powder, with its reporting basis stated.

MFC-E50 uses a different kind of number: its name identifies 50% mogroside V.[2] It should be compared with other V specifications on a matched analytical basis, rather than ranked against Matakana’s 90% ingredient proportion. A carrier declaration and a compound assay answer different questions; a declared carrier is not itself evidence of adulteration.

Selective purification also differs from simply drying a juice. In a 2011 laboratory study, dried fruit powder was extracted twice with boiling water. The subsequent HZ 806 resin separation used a deionized-water wash followed by 40% aqueous ethanol to elute the target compound.[6] This illustrates separate extraction and purification operations, not the manufacturing route or residual-solvent result of any named commercial product. The monk fruit ingredient guide covers processing and material forms in more detail.

Finished blend: read 1:1 as a measurement instruction

Lakanto’s official cup-for-cup instruction describes the finished blend; the retail examples below show how that measuring promise differs from small-dose extract use.[8]

That makes it a different purchasing item from an enriched extract. A developer seeking a concentrated sweetening component still has to design the rest of the formula; someone seeking a ready-to-measure sugar replacement is evaluating the whole blend. Matakana’s declared 10% maltodextrin and Lakanto’s erythritol–extract composition belong in those respective material descriptions, rather than being collapsed into one generic “filler” category.[5][8]

Taste descriptions require a separate reading. Monk Fruit Corp describes its concentrate as having a clean sweet taste without bitterness; FruitSource’s sheet says only “Sweet.”[1][4] These supplier descriptions do not constitute a controlled comparison. They identify claims to evaluate in the intended food, alongside sweetness intensity, background flavour and lingering taste.

What four monk fruit sweeteners reveal about the product behind the name

“Monk fruit sweetener” can describe a few drops added to coffee, a small scoop of extract, or a cupful of a sugar-replacement blend. The commercial distinction is not simply powder versus liquid: it is what the customer measures, what accompanies the extract, and which part of sugar replacement the brand promises to simplify.

Method: This purposive sample comprises four Amazon.com listings from three brands, selected from 20 search results on 23 September 2026 and examined through product text and seller-displayed packaging images; it is not a representative market survey or a test of the purchased products.

Small-dose sweetness: liquid formulation versus extract-only labeling

NOW Organic Monk Fruit liquid, 2 fl oz, illustrates a ready-to-dose format: its directions say to sweeten foods and beverages to taste with 5–8 drops and shake before use.[9] Its back label lists de-ionized water, certified organic monk fruit extract and “11% organic cane alcohol.”[9] That percentage has no stated weight or volume basis on the pictured label; calling it 11% ABV would add information the label does not supply. The practical proposition is a liquid that can be dispensed in drops, not a declared concentration of dry extract or mogrosides.

DureLife Organic 100% Pure Monk Fruit Sweetener, 5 oz, takes a different approach: the back label names only organic monk fruit extract, while the front emphasizes “100% PURE” and “NO ERYTHRITOL.”[10] Here, “pure” describes the seller’s ingredient proposition; it does not establish 100% mogrosides, a mogroside V assay, or a standardized extract grade. No such percentage is disclosed in the inspected product text or label images.

DureLife’s instructions make the distinction between concentrated sweetness and sugar-like measuring especially clear: one scoop, identified as 1/8 teaspoon, is said to produce the same sweet taste as one teaspoon of sugar; the nutrition panel identifies a scoop as 0.31 g.[10] This is a sweetness comparison between unequal volumes, not a cup-for-cup replacement instruction. Baking imagery therefore cannot establish that this small amount also replaces the volume or functional contribution of the sugar removed. The package images show 450 servings on the front and 454 on the back, leaving two different serving-count declarations for this product.[10]

Two Lakanto Classics, two blend identities

The shared brand and “Classic” name do not make the two Lakanto products one specification. Lakanto Classic with Erythritol, 5 lb, lists erythritol and monk fruit extract; Lakanto Classic with Allulose, 3 lb, lists allulose and monk fruit extract.[11][12] The latter is explicitly positioned as erythritol-free.[12] Consequently, “no erythritol” can identify either DureLife’s single-extract declaration or Lakanto’s alternative blend—it does not, by itself, mean “no other ingredients.”[10][12]

The erythritol listing turns convenience into a concrete measuring promise: a gallery graphic places “1 cup sugar” beside “1 cup Lakanto,” under “Measures 1:1 Like Sugar,” qualified by “As close to a 1:1 replacement as we can get.”[11] This illustrates equal-volume substitution, not equal weight or a 1:1 ingredient ratio. Its other advertising associates monk fruit extract with sweetness and erythritol with sugar-like texture.[11]

The allulose listing instead describes a “close to 1:1” replacement ratio and promotes moisture retention and sugar-like browning.[12] The allulose listing does not specify whether its ratio is based on weight or volume; the cup illustration belongs to the erythritol product.[11]

Sweetness, measuring and baking are separate promises

These examples expose three different questions inside “replaces sugar”: how much produces comparable sweetness, how much occupies the same measuring cup, and how the finished recipe behaves. A conversion instruction addresses the first or second question; baking, browning and moisture claims address the third. Neither attractive food photographs nor a measuring graphic demonstrates recipe-level equivalence.

Nutrition panels do not resolve the formulation either. Both Lakanto labels declare an 8 g serving, 8 g total carbohydrate and zero calories; the erythritol version also declares 8 g sugar alcohol.[11][12] Those displayed figures are not sufficiently precise to calculate the monk fruit extract fraction. Nor does the zero-calorie declaration demonstrate that every constituent has zero physical energy value.

NOW emphasizes dropwise adjustment, while DureLife emphasizes extract-only labeling and a small sweetness-equivalent measure.[9][10] Lakanto presents erythritol and allulose blends around familiar sugar-replacement routines.[11][12] Ingredient identity, measuring convenience and claimed cooking performance are separate sources of differentiation—and none supplies the missing mogroside assay for the extract within the finished product.

One extract did not have one fixed sweetness multiplier

A 2018 study tested 16 sweetener systems with 40 healthy adults. Its monk fruit sample was an extract containing 50.6% mogroside V, not isolated V. Solutions were prepared with filtered water, and participants rated sweetness on a general labelled magnitude scale (gLMS), holding a 15 mL sample for five seconds and rating it before expectorating.[7]

The paper’s model-derived equal-sweetness concentrations changed with the sucrose reference. Concentrations below are expressed as grams of the respective sweetener per 100 mL of solution (% w/v); the monk fruit column refers to the extract, not to V alone.[7]

Model-derived equal sweetness in water: one 50.6%-V extract
Sucrose reference, % w/vModel-derived monk fruit extract concentration, % w/vReported sweetness potency relative to sucrose
Sucrose reference, % w/v5Model-derived monk fruit extract concentration, % w/v0.0191Reported sweetness potency relative to sucrose262
Sucrose reference, % w/v10Model-derived monk fruit extract concentration, % w/v0.0694Reported sweetness potency relative to sucrose144
Sucrose reference, % w/v15Model-derived monk fruit extract concentration, % w/v0.141Reported sweetness potency relative to sucrose106

Source: Wee et al. (2018), Table 4; one 50.6%-V extract tested in water. These are model-derived comparisons, not recommended beverage doses.[7]

Sweetness potency is the sucrose concentration divided by the extract concentration at matched sweetness. The three ratios are approximately 262, 144 and 106: the reported multiplier falls as the reference sweetness rises.[7] A single “times sweeter” figure therefore leaves out a condition essential to interpreting this extract’s performance.

The study measured sweetness intensity, not consumer liking, aroma or aftertaste. Its authors also distinguish results in water from performance in foods and beverages.[7] For purchasing, this supports comparing samples at matched perceived sweetness in the actual base, rather than using the table to calculate a commercial dose or to convert between concentrate and powder.

Compare cost after establishing the required sample dose

A useful sample brief identifies the beverage or food base, the material form under consideration, the current composition and V reporting basis, and the colour and storage requirements. Keep the comparison tied to an exact product and specification version. For spoonable replacements, include whether the formula calls for volume-based measurement of a finished blend.

Once trials establish an acceptable dose, ingredient cost per batch is the required mass of the supplied ingredient multiplied by its price per unit mass. Handling and storage costs can then be added on the same batch basis. Comparing equal V mass can help examine composition, but it cannot replace that sensory and application step.

Together, the specifications and retail examples suggest a practical comparison: compare Brix with Brix, V assays on a matched basis, ingredient proportions with ingredient proportions, and finished blends as complete systems. For the next stage, the beverage sweetener trial guide covers sensory comparison and overall application cost.

Sources

[1] Monk Fruit Corp: Monk Fruit Juice Concentrate

[2] Monk Fruit Corp: powdered extract grades

[4] FruitSource Monk Fruit Concentrate AG6522 specification, 20 September 2021

[5] Matakana: Monk Fruit Powder ingredients

[6] Li et al. (2011): Development of a Process for Separation of Mogroside V from Siraitia grosvenorii by Macroporous Resins

[7] Wee et al. (2018): A Comparison of Psychophysical Dose-Response Behaviour across 16 Sweeteners

[8] Lakanto: Classic Monkfruit Sweetener with Erythritol

[9] NOW Foods, Organic Monk Fruit, Zero-Calorie Liquid Sweetener, 2 fl. oz

[10] DureLife Organic 100% Pure Monk Fruit Sweetener, No Erythritol, 5 Oz

[11] Lakanto Classic Monk Fruit Sweetener with Erythritol, 5 Lb

[12] Lakanto Classic Monk Fruit Sweetener with Allulose, Classic White, 3 LB